featuring Samuel Phua (saxophone)
and Julian Chan (piano)

Elliot TEO - Mixed Recital *
KOH Cheng Jin - 刹那的永恒 (An Eternity of the Moment) *
Jonathan SHIN - Lunarabesque **

- Intermission -

Modest MUSSORGSKY (arr. J. Nagao) - Pictures at an Exhibition
for saxophones and piano

* World Premiere
** UK Premiere

Event Synopsis:

"A Mixed Recital," is a showcase of three composers from Singapore, reflecting the diversity of musical voices of the island country. Jonathan Shin’s Lunarabesque is an uncanny fusion of many styles: jazz, pop, funk, and classical music in equal measure—and yet, remains absolutely 'shin-ian' in its inventiveness and joy for living. Koh Cheng Jin’s background in Traditional Chinese music as a Yangqin player is captured in the tender songfulness of A Fleeting Perennity. Lastly, London-trained Elliot Teo’s work, Mixed Recital, is a conceptual piece that explores the idea of monologue v.s. dialogue in chamber music, where both saxophone and piano play alone initially before coming together towards the end, their individual lines now superimposed over one another.

The concert ends with Modest Mussorgsky's celebrated Pictures at an Exhibition, in an arrangement for one saxophonist and piano. Showcasing the unique sound of each saxophone within the standard family in different sections of the piece - from the melancholic opening Promenade to the triumphant Great Gate of Kyiv - this arrangement of Pictures takes the listener on a journey through Mussorgsky's gallery like no other, and is not to be missed!
About the performers:

Samuel Phua (Saxophone)

Hailed as "Singaporean Saxophone Extraordinaire" by the Singapore Symphony Orchestra, Samuel Phua 潘培铭 is a recipient of the Singapore National Arts Council Arts Scholarship (Undergraduate) 2017. He graduated from the Sibelius Academy, Helsinki, with a Bachelor of Music Degree with minors in Performance Coaching, Chamber Music, Improvisation and Pedagogy under the tutelage of Joonatan Rautiola.

Samuel has performed as a soloist with Singapore's top orchestras and bands, including the Singapore Symphony Orchestra, Orchestra of the Music Makers, Braddell Heights Symphony Orchestra, The Philharmonic Winds, Singapore Wind Symphony and Ventus Music. He has performed with the Armenian State Symphony Orchestra as a finalist in the 2020 "Classic Winds" International Saxophone and Clarinet Competition and clinched 4th place in the Asia Pacific Saxophone Competition 2019.

Julian Chan (Piano)

Rapidly developing a reputation as one of the most innovative pianists of his generation, Julian Chan has given performances at a number of prestigious venues across the UK, including Wigmore Hall, Southbank Centre, St John’s Smith Square, and the Sheldonian Theatre.

Performing music by a particularly diverse range of composers, he has given alluring recitals featuring works by figures from Sweelinck to Messiaen, from Alkan to Rzewski, unifying these various styles in a captivating manner.

Julian has had masterclasses with numerous pianists of international renown, including Stephen Hough, Imogen Cooper, Jeremy Menuhin, Bobby Chen, and Joanna MacGregor; distinguished conductors with whom he has performed, both as a soloist and as part of the acclaimed Manson Ensemble, include Ben Glassberg, Ryan Wigglesworth, Jessica Cottis, Jonathan Berman, and John Gibbons.

Recently, Julian was awarded First Prize and Sonata Prize at the Nanyang International Music Competition, Singapore, First Prize at the Norah Sande Award, and First Prize at the Coulsdon and Purley Festival with his performance of Rachmaninoff’s Piano Concerto No. 3.


St James' Church,
Sussex Gardens
London W2 3UD
Date & Time
September 15, 2023, 7:30 PM - 9:00 PM

Standard: £10.61
Students: £5.46

*Includes booking fees

Processing Registration...