Join us on TUESDAY August 31 
A virtual summit about substance use recovery held on International Overdose Awareness Day 2021. 
Location
Online
Date & Time
Tuesday August 31, 2021
9 AM - 1:30 PM PT /
12 PM - 4:30 PM ET
would You like to
commemorate someone?

Remembering those who have lost their lives – or have been injured – as a result of a drug overdose is an important part of International Overdose Awareness Day.

If you would like to commemorate someone, please visit the International Overdose Awareness Day website by clicking the button below.


Schedule
9:00 AM PT / 
12:00 PM ET
Recognizing International Overdose Awareness Day and Moment of Silence
Moderator: Susan Kornett
9:15 AM PT / 12:15 PM ET
Welcome
9:30 AM PT /
12:30 PM ET
Myth Question Raffle
Amy Jordan
9:35 AM PT / 12:35 PM ET 
Story of Hope - "We Can and We Do!"
Valerie Hicks
9:50 AM PT /
12:50 PM ET
Stretch Break
10:00 AM PT /
1:00 PM ET
Keynote with Q&A
Dr. Waller
11:30 AM PT /
2:30 PM ET
Stretch Break
11:45 AM PT /
2:45 PM ET
Myth Question Raffle
Nellie Humphreys-Lowry
11:50 AM PT /
2:50 PM ET
Story of Hope - “My journey, My Way”
Whitney Abbott
12:05 PM PT /
3:05 PM ET
The Rest of the Story
Panel Discussion with Jeffrey Prince, Eboni Burton, Valerie Hicks, Vincent Cella, Amy Jordan and moderated by Dr. Shana Williams
12:50 PM PT /
3:50 PM ET
Where Are We Now?
Dr. Chuck Browning and Joy Brunson-Nsubuga
1:05 PM PT /
4:05 PM ET
Reflections and Close
David W. Covington, LPC, MBA
Speakers
   Dr. Corey Waller,
MD, MS, FACEP, DFASAM
Institute on Addiction
Managing Director
Dr. Corey Waller is a board-certified and actively practicing addiction and emergency medicine specialist with experience working at the local, state, and national levels. A nationally recognized expert in SUD, he is the editor-in-chief of The ASAM Criteria.
Susan Kornett, 
MA, LCMHC, LCAS, CSI
RI INTERNATIONAL
PROGRAM DIRECTOR FOR OBOT AND OUTPATIENT
Susan Kornett is the OBOT Supervisor and Clinician of RI Durham's OBOT program. She specializes in substance use treatment, particularly with MAT, as well as mental health treatment.
Joy Brunson-Nsubuga, 
MA, LMFT, LCAS, CCS
RI INTERNATIONAL
VP- SOUTHEAST REGION
Joy is an expert in Medication Assisted Treatment and the leader of the RI Opioid Consult team. She has determined that her purpose is to assist with breaking generational and systemic patterns with compassion, creativity, and consistency.
Amy Jordan, MSN, RN-BC 
RI INTERNATIONAL
NURSE MANAGER AND NURSE TRAINER
Amy Jordan is a psychiatric nurse with 20 years experience. She  has practiced in adult inpatient psychiatry, and still has the same passion for behavioral health work as she did when she got her first job in nursing.
Dr. Chuck Browning, MD
RI INTERNATIONAL
CHIEF MEDICAL OFFICER
Dr. Chuck provides the medical and clinical expertise for opioid use disorder treatment which influences policy and procedure for RI’s MAT services.
David Covington, LPC, MBA 
RI INTERNATIONAL
CEO & PRESIDENT
David Covington is a behavioral health innovator, entrepreneur and storyteller. He is also a partner in Behavioral Health Link, and founder of the international innovations “Moving America’s Soul on Suicide,” “Zero Suicide,” “Crisis Now,” “Crisis Talk” and “Hope Inc. Stories.”
Eboni Burton, 
LCSWA, LCASA
RI INTERNATIONAL
SHIFT SUPERVISOR
Eboni Burton is a licensed clinical social worker associate and a licensed clinical addictions specialist associate. She works at the Cumberland RRC and strives to bring awareness and knowledge about the opioid epidemic through use of language, data, and research.
Jeffrey Prince, CPSS
RI INTERNATIONAL
MILIEU SPECIALIST
Jeffrey Prince is a Milieu Specialist in Durham, NC. For most of Jeffrey's adult life he worked as an elementary teacher but felt a true calling when joining RI. Jeffrey also works with RI's Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Leadership Council and RI's Peer Leadership Council.
Nellie Humphreys-Lowry, MA, LCMHCA, LCASA
RI INTERNATIONAL
SHIFT SUPERVISOR
Nellie Humphreys-Lowry is a Shift Supervisor at  RI's Cumberland RRC in Fayetteville, NC. She has 10 years’ experience working in the substance use and mental health fields.
Shana Williams, 
PMHNPBC, DNP
RI INTERNATIONAL
LEAD NURSE PRACTITIONER
Shana Williams holds a Master’s degree in Nursing  and a Doctorate. She has over 10 years of experience within inpatient and outpatient behavioral health as well as substance dependence and Medication Assisted Treatment (MAT).
Valerie Hicks
RI INTERNATIONAL
PEER SUPPORT SPECIALIST 1
Valerie Hicks works in southern Delaware in a hospital emergency room for the RI International START program. She raises awareness of the benefits of MAT and reduce the stigma of those who are on it.
Vincent Cella, 
DNP, PMHNP-BC
RI INTERNATIONAL
PSYCHIATRIC NURSE PRACTITIONER
Vincent Cella is a doctor of nursing practice (DNP). He provider MAT services at RI's Henderson and Durham RRC. Vincent is a provider for the OBOT clinic in Durham and a training and development specialist for MAT in outpatient settings.
Whitney Abbott, CPSS
RI INTERNATIONAL
BEHAVIORAL HEALTH TECHNICIAN
Whitney Abbott began with RI at the Henderson RRC while entering her third year of sobriety. She is a recipient of RI's 2018 Peer Support of the Year Award. She hopes to share the benefits of MAT with others, and its positive influence in her own life.

Processing Registration...